The end of a two-newspaper Seattle?

Editorial cartoonist David Horsey's take on the sale of The Seattle P-I.

Editorial cartoonist David Horsey's take on the sale of The Seattle P-I.

If no one’s willing to buy The P-I it’ll shut down or publish as an online publication only. And that would mean a bunch of unemployed journalists, which is why I take the news so personally.

Read the story here.

2 responses to “The end of a two-newspaper Seattle?

  1. I was at The Seattle Times right at the moment the P-I was having their noon meeting with Hearst. All morning we had been waiting with our hearts in our throats to hear the announcement. While some can argue that it’s good for the Times, I think most of us there in that newsroom was upset at the P-I’s closure.

    What’s worse, on a business sense, than the democracy getting a kick in the face, is the fact that all P-I employees have been working without a contract due to the inability of the newspaper union and Hearst corporation to agree. It seems likely that Hearst chose this exact moment to close to P-I because they will probably not have to pay severance.

    Some journalists at the Times have called Hearst “ruthless” and it’s easy to see why.

Leave a Reply

