Radio pays its respects to the P-I. But where’s The Seattle Times?

KPLU’s Jennifer Wing launches the first of a three-part series with this profile of P-I reporter Mike Lewis. (It’s a very nice piece, I think. Made me kind of sad. Mike writes the kinds of stories I was always so fond of going after.) It’s a nice portrait of a reporter/ a reporter at-work/ a reporter on the brink of The End.) Listen here. 

KUOW also launches its own series today. I’ve only listened to three of the six parts but my favorite, by far, was piece number three. Mentions the cross-town rivalry. I guess I liked this piece the best because it hit home. Here’s the link to the series.

This is obviously a big LOCAL story and it used to be that the Seattle Times would find BIG LOCAL stories and write about them giving them preemo real estate: Sunday, A-1. Yes, there’s a rivalry. But instead of salting its Sunday section fronts with “What You Get in the Daily Seattle Times” ads I would argue a classier way of snagging Sunday P-I readers to subscribing to the daily Seattle Times would have been with a Sunday story about this likely being the last week of its (print) existence.

2 responses to “Radio pays its respects to the P-I. But where’s The Seattle Times?

  1. Pingback: Last Rites for the P-I? « The Buzz

  2. Nice post Flor. I agree. The Times’ coverage, including Mapes’ piece today, has been fine but straight to the point of antiseptic.

Leave a Reply

